Korea National Parks


  • Positioned at the center of the backbone of Korea, Deogyusan was designated as the 10th national park in Korea in 1975.
    It spans across Muju-gun and Jangsu-gun in Jeollabuk-do and Geochang-gun in Gyeongsangnam-do, and its total area is 229.43㎢.
    Deogyusan National Park lies at the hear of Baekdudaegan(Backbone mountain ridges of Korea). To the east is Gayasan, the west Naejangsan, the south Jirisan, and to the north Gyeryongsan and Songnisan. Deogyusan is also the root of Geumgang(River) which runs to the north and Nakdonggang(River) which runs to the east.
    Deogyusan also has the fourth highest mountain peak in South Korea (Hyangjeokbong 1,614m) which preserves a sub-alpine ecosystem. Each year about one million visions come to Deogyusan National Park.

    With a total of 1,067 plant species, Deogyusan National Park is called “The Heaven of Wild Flowers.” As for animals, there are 32 mammal species, 130 bird species, 9 amphibian species, 13 reptile species, 28 fish species, and 1,337 insect species inhabiting the area. Deogyusan is rich in biodiversity with 2,039 species altogether, and animals such as the flying squirrel, Otter, Marten cat, and Small-eared cat have been designated as endangered species by the Ministry of Environment.

Deogyusan National Park map